La Jåponaise Moustachue© - Guerrilla Stoemp - The Thin Black Duke - The George Låzenby Firelight Ensemble - The BaleaRic Hunter - (Le)Dåndy - Jules Barbey d'Aurevilly avec une Afro - André Bellegårde et son Orchestre Digital - I am a Cåssette...Dandytronic...Heddofone...Né à uccle mort en bas résilles...Matelot à sec...Inconnu du Nord au midi...Candidat déchu du concours Princesse Claquettes....La vie est un film natur(al)iste hollandais...Adepte des titres a rallonges...Toi aussi tu aimes les bûches?


I don't really do reviews, If it's on here, It means I love it. Dead simple.
Some of the pictures here are mine, hit me up if you're interested in my work.

mercredi 30 mai 2012

Fire Star: Tamil electro-funk and synth-pop 1984-1989 (Bombay Connection Records)

Tamil Electro Funk en Synth Pop sounds by South-Indian composer Ilaiyaraaja.
Some of the tracks are already known to those interested in Indian music but it's still a strong offering from Bombay Connection.

*Indian film music invariably manages to take you by surprise, time and time again. Hard electro-funk and sweet synth-pop are not genres you would expect from India. Yet, in the late 80s electronic beats and synths were eagerly embraced by the film industry of South India along with kung fu fights, aerobics, sunglasses and jogging outfits. The rich and funky Tamil grooves of early 80s transformed into stripped electronic synthesizer music. Composer Ilaiyaraaja, AKA ‘The Maestro’ used minimal beats and synthetic arrangements to create an addictive and captivating electro synth pop sound. His experimental mind, unfailing pop instinct and advanced harmonics make the songs a feast for the ears that will grow with every listen.*

Vikram – Kamal Hassan – 1986
Adi Rani Mangama – Mano -1989
Instrumental Music – 1989
Baby – Anuradha – 1988
Pala Rathiri – Vani Jairam, M. Vasudevan & G. Amaran – 1986
Chittu Kuruvi – S.P. Balasubrahmaniam & S.Janaki – 1985
Disco King – Yesudas & Vani Jairam – 1986
Pattu Engey – Malaysia Vasudevan & S. P. Sailaja – 1987
One Two – Francis Lazarus 1986
Raja Rajadhi Raja – Ilaiyaraaja – 1988
Pavala Malligai – Malaysia Vasudevan & Chithra 1986
Ninnukkori – Chitra -1988
Love Theme On Computer – 1986
I Want To Tell You Something – S.P. Balasubrahmaniam – 1987
Valaiyosai – S.P. Balasubrahmanyam & Lata Mangeshkar – 1988
Vaa Veliye – S.P. Balasubrahmanyam & Chitra – 1987

Compiled by edo Bouman & Julien Dechery. Liner notes by Ravi Balakrishnan, Audio restauration Colin Young at Seewhyaudio, mastering Darius van Helfteren.

Aucun commentaire: